Brexit Brainstorming – or Fifty Ways to Leave the EU (with apologies to Paul Simon)

31 Aug

The problem is all inside our heads

She said to us

Brexit is easy if you

Take it logically

I’d like to help you in your struggle

To be free

There must be fifty ways

To leave the EU

 

She said it’s really not my habit

To intrude

Furthermore, I hope my meaning

Won’t be lost or misconstrued

But I’ll repeat myself

Brexit is Brexit

And there must be fifty ways

To leave the EU

Fifty ways to leave the EU

 

You just slip out the back (Gove)

Make a new plan, David

You don’t need to be coy, Liam

Just get yourself free

Paint stats on a bus, Boris

You don’t need to discuss much

Just drop off the key, Andrea

And get yourself free

 

She said it grieves me so

To see you still think of Remain

I wish there was something I could do

To make you smile again

We said we appreciate that

And would you please explain

About triggering Article 50?

 

She said why don’t we all

Just sleep on it tonight

After this brainstorming

You’re sure to see the light

And then she glared at us

And we realised she probably was right

There must be fifty ways

To leave the EU

Fifty ways to leave the EU

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

